Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop

Paradigm Spirits Heritage Collection 2020

Nozinan Mini and Sample Series - 89

5 392

@NozinanReview by @Nozinan

27th Apr 2024

1

Paradigm Spirits Heritage Collection 2020
  • Nose
    ~
  • Taste
    ~
  • Finish
    ~
  • Balance
    ~
  • Overall
    92

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: user

  • Brand: Paradigm Spirits
  • ABV: 67.9%

As the clock winds down on Connosr as an active site, and we prepare to ‘shift our paradigm’ to a Discord community, I tried to get in as many tasting notes as I could before I sealed my cabinet for Passover. I thought that my last Canadian whisky review should be a great one, and this will be the first, last, and only review of a whisky from Paradigm Spirits on this site. I made my notes on April 16, and decided to post the review on my birthday, since I can’t drink any of my whisky at this time.

This sourced corn whisky was distilled in 2000 (I am led to believe it was done at the Hiram Walker distillery) and bottled in 2020. It is a single cask expression. I was introduced to this in November 2021 when @TAlexander opened it at a tasting. I received the sample in December of that year, when the bottle was 1/3 full. In 2022 he gifted me the heel and we enjoyed it in September of that year.

This expression is reviewed in my usual manner, in a standard Glencairn glass, allowing it to settle after which I take my nosing and tasting notes, followed by the addition of a few drops of water, waiting, then nosing and tasting.


Nose: 22/25

Sweet, spicy on the nose. Spirity, vanilla. Green apples. Hint of caramel. The nose gets more interesting as time goes by. Water softens the nose (in a good way) and brings out a little more fruit. (23/25)

Taste: 22.5/25

Rich mouthfeel, powerful arrival full of sweet caramel. A touch hot, but not surprising given the ABV. Vanilla on the development. Hint of mid range fruity notes, and a touch of menthol. Delicious. Water tones down the alcohol a touch, making it a little spicier rather than hot, and maintains the richness and sweetness. (23.5/25)

Finish: 22/25

Hint of pepper, cocoa, slightly astringent, fairly long. No appreciable difference with water.

Balance: 22/25

The nose and the palate complement each other. A touch more balanced with water. (23/25)

Score: Neat - 88.5/100 With Water: 91.5 /100


This is a fantastic whisky. It is a tribute to the heights that Canadian whisky can rise to when crafted with care and attention. The last time I tasted this, when we emptied @TAlexander’s heel, I went online the next day and ordered a bottle. At the time it was my most expensive purchase. Having tasted it again, I was sorely tempted to repeat that chain of events. And yes, I did eventually pull the trigger. It is surprising that this is still actually available on their site. This is a whisky to remember long after it’s gone, just like Connosr.

3 comments

@Jonesz
Jonesz commented

What site still has this. Appears to be one to try to obtain. Your review has me slathering.

9 days ago 1Who liked this?

Astroke commented

@Jonesz Paradigm does not ship outside on Ontario and this one after taxes and shipping is around 192.

paradigmspirits.com/collections/whisky/…

There are a few stores in Alberta with Great Plains 18 and 22 year (5 of those finished in Cognac casks) at cask strength and less than Paradigm 19 year.

8 days ago 1Who liked this?

@Jonesz
Jonesz commented

@astroke Thanks for the heads up on the Great Plains 18 & 22 YO will check them out.

8 days ago 1Who liked this?